Guwahati Administration

Guwahati falls under the Kamrup district in Assam. The district administration is headed by the Deputy Commissioner. Elected bodies like corporations, municipality and town committee are constituted for management and implementation of developmental schemes. The GMC, GMDA, Guwahati DevelopmAssam Secretariatent Department are responsible for the proper administration of Guwahati.

Guwahati Municipal Corporation

Guwahati city  is governed, developed and managed by the Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC). The GMC manages an area of 216 km². The Guwahati Municipal Corporation is the creation of the Guwahati Municipal Corporation Act, 1971. GMC is headed by a council of 60 elected ward commissioners. A Mayor and a Deputy Mayor heads the council. For the supervision of works there are 5 standing committees of the council.

For officiak website visit :

Office of the Commissioner
Guwahati Municipal Corporation
Panbazar, Guwahati – 781001
Fax : +91-361-2631800


The planning and development of the Greater Guwahati Metropolitan Area rests with the Guwahati Metropolitan Development Authority (GMDA). The GMDA is improving the Guwahati Master Plan and building bylaws. It manages an area of 340 km².

Shri Kausar Jamil Hilaly, ACS
Chief Executive Officer
Guwahati Metropolitan Development Authority
3rd Floor, STATFED Building
G.M.C.H. Road, Bhangagarh, Guwahati-781005
Phone No.: 0361-2529824, 2529650 (O)
Fax : 0361-2529991 (F)
Email-id for complain/grievances:- [email protected]
For enquiries related to online planning permit system and online land sale permission/land use certificate:-
Contact No: 9706523634

Guwahati Development Department

A special department of the government of Assam the Guwahati Development Department has been formed in the recent times for the larger development of the Guwahati city. The department manages the development of the Guwahati city through the development works carried out by the Guwahati Municipal Corporation and the Guwahati Metropolitan Development Authority and the other departments of the government of Assam.

Guwahati Lok Sabha Constituency

Guwahati is a Lok Sabha Constituency in Assam. The Guwahati Lok Sabha Constituency comprises of the assembly segments as- Dudhani (ST), Boko (SC), Chaygaon, Palasbari, Jalukbari, Dispur, Guwahati East, Guwahati West, Hajo and Barkhetry.

Read more : About-Guwahati,Accoland, Accommodation-in-Guwahati, Administration-of-Guwahati, Ambulance-Services-in-Guwahati, Art-Galleries-in-Guwahati, Arunachal-Carnival-in-Guwahati, Assam-State-Museum, Assam State Zoo, Aswaklanta Temple, Basistha-Temple, Balaji-Temple-in-Guwahati, Cafes-in-Guwahati, Budget-Hotels-in-Guwahati, Cafes-in-Guwahati, Churches-in-Guwahati, Culture-of-Guwahati, Durga-Puja-Shopping-in-Guwahati, Dipor-Beel, Electricity-Offices-in-Guwahati, Emergency-Services-in-Guwahati, Entertainment-in-Guwahati, Facts-and-Figures, Festivals-in-Guwahati, Fire-Stations-in-Guwahati, Flights-from-Guwahati, Food-and-Live-Performances-in-Guwahati, Government-Offices-in-Guwahati, Guwahati-and-its-Photographers, Guwahati-District-Court, Guwahati-Handloom-and-Handicraft, Guwahati-High-Court, Guwahati-in-One-Day, Guwahati-International-Film-Festival, Guwahati-Municipal-Corporation, Transport-in-Guwahati
Free Listing