best for small must for all Festival Calendar 2022
Home city guide guwahati municipal corporation

Guwahati Municipal Corporation - GMC

Guwahati Municipal CorporationGuwahati is the capital city of Assam and the gateway to all other states in the North East and is the commercial hub of North East India with all major national and multinational companies having their regional offices in the city.

Guwahati derives its name from two Assamese words: guwa' meaning areca nut and 'haat' meaning market place.It is also called as Gauhati by some.

Guwahati is situated on the southern bank of the mighty river Brahmaputra surrounded by beautiful green hills. The famous Kamakhya temple in Guwahati attracts thousands of devotees from all over the country. It witnesses large number of devotees during Manasha Puja and Ambubashi Mela. With some of famous temples like Navagraha, Sukreswar, Poorva Tirupathi, Umananda, Doul Govinda Temple, Balaji Temple, Dirgheswari Temple, etc Guwahati is also known as the Temple city. The hermitage of Basistha Rishi is located in the southern part of Guwahati.

The Guwahati Municipal Corporation or GMC was created in 1971 by the Guwahati Municipal Corporation Act which was constituted in 1974 in the first meeting of all the elected councilors as per Section 45 of the Guwahati Municipal Corporation Act.

The Corporation is headed by a Mayor and a Deputy Mayor along with the council of 60 elected ward commissioners. There are also 5 standing committees of the council to supervise their various works for a swift running of the Municipal Corporation. The GMC presently covers an area of 216 km² which comes under its jurisdiction and is divided into 60 municipal wards covering the whole of Guwahati city.

The major branches of the Guwahati Municipal Corporation includes -

  1. Water Works Tax Division

  2. Conservancy

  3. Building Permission

  4. Public Works

  5. Municipal Markets

  6. Street light and Electrical Section

  7. Veterinary

  8. Sanitation & Health

  9. Property Tax

  10. Enforcement

  11. Trade License

  12. Mutation Branch

  13. Slow Moving Vehicle Branch

  14. Advertisement

  15. Poverty alleviation

  16. Dead body and night soil removal Branch

  17. Garage Branch

  18. Birth and death registration

  19. Accounts Branch

The different sources of Revenue collected by GMC are as follows:

  1. The trade license fees

  2. The property Tax comprising of water tax, general tax, scavenging tax, urban tax and light tax

  3. The entry toll

  4. The toll and rents from municipal markets

  5. The parking fees

  6. The taxes on advertisements

  7. The animal tax

  8. The vehicle tax on slow moving vehicles

  9. The building permission fees and penalties

  10. The various Fines

  11. The water connection charge

  12. The share of motor vehicle tax

  13. The share of land revenue and surcharge on stamp duty

  14. The share of entertainment tax

GMC Zones:

  1. Central Zone of Guwahati

  2. Dispur Zone of Guwahati

  3. East Zone of Guwahati

  4. Lokhra Zone of Guwahati

  5. South Zone of Guwahati

  6. West Zone of Guwahati
Each revenue zone is headed by a Deputy Commissioner while an executive engineer heads the public works department.

Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC) office address:-

Office of the Commissioner
Guwahati Municipal Corporation
Panbazar, Guwahati, Assam
Pin: 781001
Email id: -,
Phone: - 0361-2540525
Fax: 0361-2631800, 361-2561447

The Municipal Corporation also runs a toll free number for the Guwahati city dwellers: - 18003453628

Explore more about Guwahati Administration

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries